Who I’d like to be the 13th Doctor

On Sunday, the 16th of July after the Wimbledon final, the 13th Doctor will be announced. There have been many rumours about certain Actors and Actresses who have been chosen to play the role and the anticipation for tomorrow’s announcement is high.

 

 

I’m extremely excited about finding out who the new Doctor is tomorrow and even though there have been many people rumoured for the role already, I want an unknown actor/actress to play the role. I think it would be nice to have an unknown play the part as the 13th Doctor because it would be a surprise for us. We wouldn’t know anything about their acting and we wouldn’t have an opinion on them like everyone already has for the Actors/Actresses who are rumoured to have the role.

But if I were to pick a well known Actor/Actress, I would have picked Hayley Atwell! After seeing her in Agent Carter, Captain America and Black Mirror, I think she would make a great Doctor! She did say in a Twitter Q&A that she would like to be the Doctor, however that was in 2015 and according to donthatethatgeek, she said “I don’t want to play it. No. It’s just not my thing, but I really respect it.” while at a panel at London’s Heroes and Villains Fanfest this year. Well, I’ll just have to leave it to imagining her as the Doctor.

ATWELL-DOC Hayley-Atwell-Doctor-Who

Out of all the favourites for the next Doctor though, I think I’d like either Phoebe Waller-Bridge or Richard Ayoade. I think it would be really cool to have a female or black Doctor! I don’t really want it to be Kris Marshall… I can’t really picture him as the Doctor, but if it is him I can’t judge him yet as we won’t really know what the 13th Doctor is like until we see him/her on screen.

I’m also very excited to see Chris Chibnall as the new showrunner! I do like Steven Moffatt, but I felt like some episodes that he had written weren’t as good as other ones… but some of his episodes still remain my favourite like Blink and Angels Take Manhattan (even though I cry every time I watch it).

I will miss Capaldi though. Even though the sunglasses and guitar were a little too much for me, I still think he made a great Doctor!

Thanks for reading! Who do you want to be the next Doctor?

Chloe

 

(I do not own any of the pictures I have used in this blog post)

Leave a Reply

