Picasso & Giacometti Exhibition

Today my family and I went to the Picasso & Giacometti Exhibition in the Old Fire Station here in Qatar. I was very excited to go as I’m an art student and I enjoy looking at peoples artwork. Pablo Picasso (1881-1973) and Alberto Giacometti (1901-1966) are two well-known artists from the twentieth century. The exhibition shows their work and also shows the research of the unknown relationship between the two artists. I took quite a lot of pictures of both of their work, but narrowed it down to my favourites.

FullSizeRender 21

Alberto Giacometti, ‘Self-Portrait’, Circa 1923, Oil on canvas.

 

IMG_5537

Alberto Giacometti, ‘Pope Innocent X’, Pencil on paper.

 

IMG_5540

Pablo Picasso, ‘The Jester’, Paris 1905, Bronze.

 

FullSizeRender 24

Pablo Picasso, ‘Bather with Parasol’, Juan-les-Pins 1930, Pencil on Paper.

 

“Painting is just another way of keeping a diary.” – Pablo Picasso

 

FullSizeRender 23

Pablo Picasso, ‘Sleeping Woman’, Paris 1927, Oil on canvas.

 

IMG_5574

FullSizeRender 22

IMG_5576

IMG_5577

IMG_5578

Alberto Giacometti, ‘Michel Leiris on His Bed I-VI’, 1957-1958, Etching.

 

FullSizeRender 19

Pablo Picasso, ‘The Death of Casagemas’, Paris 1901, Oil on wood panel. 

 

IMG_5586

Alberto Giacometti, ‘Annette’, Circa 1952, Oil on cut canvas. 

 

“Artistically I am still a child with a whole life ahead of me to discover and create. I want something, but I won’t know what it is until I succeed in doing it.” – Alberto Giacometti
IMG_5597
Pablo Picasso, ‘Portrait of Dora Maar’, Paris 1937, Oil and pastel on canvas. 
IMG_5605
Alberto Giacometti, ‘Bouquet and Three Apples’, 1961, Oil on canvas.
FullSizeRender 20
Pablo Picasso, ‘Female Workers’, Paris 1940, Pencil on a piece of newspaper. 
IMG_5629
Pablo Picasso, ‘Jacqueline with Crossed Hands’, Vallauris 1954, Oil on canvas.
I also did a little sketch of Picasso’s ‘The Jester’ Sculpture, using Graphite pencils.
Sketch of Picasso's 'The Jester'
I had a lot of fun at the exhibition and also came home with two notebooks with Picasso’s work on them and a badge with Giacometti’s work on! Thanks for reading!
Chloe
Leave a Reply

