Opening My Owlcrate 

If you don’t know what OwlCrate is, then you have been missing OUT! OwlCrate is a monthly Young Adult Subscription Box which comes with a newly released book and some geeky goodies. Every month OwlCrate chooses a theme and then chooses a book and some items to go with that theme, then put them all together into a box.
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’d been following OwlCrate’s Instagram for nearly a year now and since then I’ve been dreaming of ordering a box. The thing is, I live in Qatar so there’s always things holding me back from ordering something online; the payment for shipping, it could get lost in the mail or I just had no money to afford it. But my sister ordered the past two OwlCrate’s, which I was very jealous about as I really wanted have my own! Luckily, my sister wasn’t interested in the October Theme so I grabbed hold of my chance and I ordered it! This month’s theme was Once Upon a Dream and I loved it!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The first thing I saw when I opened the box was a Peter Pan inspired beanie made by Whoists and Whatists! I was so happy to see that they had put a beanie in the box because I love beanies! Ever since I got it I’ve been wearing it non-stop! It’s so comfortable to wear and I really love the red feather on it. My Mum’s goddaughter has been staying with us (she’s a baby) and she loves it as well. She keeps pulling it off my head because she’s so fascinated by it!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The second item that I saw in the box was this beautiful book called Vassa In The Night by Sarah Porter. I am in love with the cover and reading the blurb has made me super excited to read it! I also got a letter from the author and a sticker where she has signed it which I stuck in the book. The letter from the author was such a lovely thing that OwlCrate had added to the box! I was supposed to get a temporary tattoo but I couldn’t find it anywhere so I was a little bit disappointed with that. Once I’ve read the book, I’ll write a review on it so have a look out for that.

Vassa in the Night is a powerful and haunting modern retelling of the Russian folktale “Vassilissa the Beautiful” for teen fans of urban fantasy, fairy tales, magic, and horror who enjoy books by Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, Catherynne Valente, and V. E. Schwab.

In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now―but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters―and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair….

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

A little notebook from The Unemployed Philosopher’s Guild was the next thing I picked up. On the inside it has a passport information page where you stick your picture and fill in your first name, surname , birth date, nationality etc, etc… and inside the book at the back, is a list of Traveler’s Tips for Oz! It’s such a creative idea and it’s very handy to have in your possession when you’re an aspiring writer!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The next thing I got out was a cute fabric button bookmark made by My Heart My Tribe! It’s like a giant paperclip with the little fabric button at the top. The little purple flowers on it are so cute and I will definitely be using it as a bookmark when I read Vassa In The Night!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The last item I picked out was a Sleeping Beauty inspired bangle charm bracelet made by The Geeky Cauldron. It’s exclusive to the box so you can’t go and buy it if you wanted to. I love the little charms on it but I’m not a big jewellery wearer so I’ll only be wearing it when I go to a party or something like that.

I also got a badge which had the same picture as the little card that you can see on the first picture and a bookmark which was advertising a series of books called The New World series by Jennifer Wilson. They look quite interesting so I’ll have to check them out.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I absolutely loved this month’s theme for OwlCrate and I can’t wait for the next one (the theme is Wonderland). Also, you can subscribe to OwlCrate here if you are interested in buying a box. Thanks for reading!

Chloe

PS: If you want to read another review on an OwlCrate box, my good friend Chanel made one about the August box on her blog! You can check it out here.

Leave a Reply

