Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Film Review

My family and I have just gone and watched Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children… And I thought it was AMAZING! Before I get started on this review I just want to mention that I’ve done a book review on the first book which you can read here.

mphfpc1

Okay so, ever since I heard that there was a film coming out about MPHFPC, I’ve been so excited to watch it. My parents asked if my sister and I wanted to go out and watch it earlier and of course we replied with a massive YES!

The film itself is two hours and seven minutes, and is rated PG-13. Rotten Tomatoes gave it 64%, which I think is a crap rating! It at least deserved an 85%! The actors and actresses were amazing and I really love how Tim Burton made the film. Some of the parts were exactly how I had imagined them in my head while reading the first book! But I think that was one of the problems for me: I’ve only read the first book and I think they might’ve put some of the parts from the other two books in there… I didn’t even know what was happening for the last 45 minutes as it was different from the book. I still really loved the ending (I actually prefer the film’s ending over the book’s ending to be honest) but I think it’s just spoiled some of the parts of the books for me. Although I’ve got to read the two books in order to find out!

I was really afraid that it wasn’t going to turn out as well as the book as many films that were books had been ruined before (*cough* Percy Jackson *cough*) but I couldn’t be more wrong. The film was just as spectacular as the book! There were a few things that they missed out from the book and some scenes were changed but it didn’t bother me. One of the changes that did bother me was how they switched Emma’s and Olive’s powers, although I guess it did work out in the film. It still bothered me though.

Another thing is that I really wished we could have seen more of Millard though (no pun intended) as he was my favourite character in the first book. He was really funny and I just feel like they pushed him to the side in the film. If they do make another film, I hope that they put more of Millard in it.

You could definitely tell that it was a Tim Burton film, as it was very creepy and spooky! It was also very funny and definitely something to watch with your family. Watching it has really made me want to read the rest of the books and also the new book ‘Tales of the Peculiar‘! I love Jake’s world so much and I didn’t realise how much I had missed it!

I really recommend that you go and watch it because I really enjoyed it and they explained what was happening really well in the film. It wasn’t like in Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince where you would of had to read the book to understand what was happening fully. Even my Mum loved the film- which is saying something as my Mum normally doesn’t like these type of films.

You can watch the trailer here, if you haven’t already watched it.

When his beloved grandfather leaves Jake clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers – and their terrifying enemies. Ultimately, Jake discovers that only his own special peculiarity can save his new friends. Based on the novel “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children,” written by Ransom Riggs.

Thanks for reading! Go and watch it!

Chloe

Leave a Reply

