DIY Harry Potter Wand

I was looking on Pinterest and I came across a picture that showed you how to make your own Harry Potter wand and I was instantly inspired to make one. (I saved it to my Pinterest board, Harry Potter DIY, just in case you want to take look at it.)

I started off with a drawing a picture of the wand I wanted to create, however it was too difficult for me to create so I made the wand up as I went. I used the same measurement of my wand that I got on Pottermore. The wand I got was 11 and 3/4 inches, Rowan, Unicorn Hair, Slightly Springy.

IMG_1494

 

The things I used were Chopsticks that I had got from Wagamama’s, a glue gun, scissors, a ruler, a pencil and paint.

FullSizeRender 3

 

I snapped the chopsticks in half and then measured out 11 and 3/4 inches (11.75 inches) on my ruler and marked it out with my pencil. I also measured out 3 inches, which was the width of my palm on my hand. I also measured how long was on chopstick and how much I would have to cut off the other chopstick to make my wand.

 

I then marked the measurements on the chopstick and etched around the marks by dragging the scissors around the chopstick which then made it easier to snap in the right place. I was going to use a knife which probably would have been much easier, but I wasn’t sure if my parents were going to let me use one of the kitchen ones…

Next, I glued the two chopsticks together to make one whole chopstick which was now the base for my wand. After they were stuck together, I began making the end part of my wand with the glue. I had to put a lot of the glue on and then twist it around to make sure the glue wouldn’t drip off. I also held it up and down to try and mould the glue a little.

 

Once the glue had dried, I began painting my wand. I used Burnt Umber for the base of the wand and also the same colour mixed with Ultramarine Blue to create a darker browny-blue colour for the glued parts. I had to paint a lot of layers on the wand to make sure there weren’t any odd patches on there.

 

I had a lot of fun making the wand and I’m so happy with how it turned out, even though it wasn’t the wand I had originally designed. It took me just a little bit over two hours to finish (but that’s because of the glue drying and me being a perfectionist with the painting). I might try and make the wand I planned before, when my friend comes around next.

IMG_1506

 

I also edited a picture where it looks like I’m casting a spell. I used the app ‘Picsart’ and added a Lens Flare at the tip of my wand.

FullSizeRender 4

 

So that’s how I made my own Harry Potter wand. Let me know if you tried this out by tagging me on my Twitter (@LordSuggington) or on my Instagram (@chloeinhogwarts) or just by leaving a comment down below ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading!

 

Chloeย 

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

