Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Book Review

I thought I would do a book review today as a few weeks ago I finished reading a book and I’d like to share my thoughts on it. I had the whole trilogy of Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children lined up on my bookcase, in the massive queue of books that I wanted to read. I wasn’t going to read it until the summer holidays but I found out that they have made a film and the trailer came out a few days ago. I watched it and instantly wanted to read the book. Although, I really wish I hadn’t of watched the trailer now because all I saw in my head when I read the book was the actors and actresses appearances, not the characters appearances that I like to normally make up in my head. I will talk about my thoughts on it and then a little about the ending at the end of the blog post which contains spoilers but I will put a warning before I say it.

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Blurb: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here—one of whom was his own grandfather— were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows. (I got this blurb from the website.)

Genre: Horror, Fantasy

 My Thoughts on the book:

I loved this story so much. I have to admit it was very creepy and a little scary (and definitely a little gory) at first but once I was introduced to the characters, it was less scarier. It was so interesting though and I was hooked on it from the first sentence. I finished it in under 24 hours! Also, my favourite character has definitely got to be Millard! His peculiarity is that he is invisible but he can only be completely invisible when he’s not wearing any clothes.

The whole story was so so good and the plot twist at the end was really shocking and well-planned out. I had a feeling that the plot twist was going to happen because of the little hints that the author foreshadows before it happens and when you put that and another thing together, you can kind of suspect what the plot twist is. I’ve started the next book but had to stop due to a lot of my exams being very close to one another.

*SPOILER ALERT*

I don’t really know if I liked the ending of the book though because Jacob left his whole life behind and started a new one. Even though Jacob doesn’t particularly like his parents a lot, I think they would still worry so much about him because for all they know he could be kidnapped or dead. Even though they left a note for his father, I don’t think he would still believe it. Also, Jacob’s grandfather didn’t return back to Miss Peregrine’s home for a reason, didn’t he? I don’t want it to sound like I’m slagging it off because I love the book so much, I just don’t agree with the ending a little. I do kind of like the ending though because I ship Jacob and Emma a lot and I love all the characters (well, except from Enoch because he’s not being very nice at the moment).

 

mphfpc1

You can buy the book here.

Overall, I loved the book so much and I definitely recommend that you read it (I have already hinted for my friend to read it because I brought it for her birthday lol) and if you have time, do read it before the film comes out because I believe that it’s more magical reading a book before watching the film. Trust me, you’ll fall in love with Jacob’s world, just like I did. I can’t wait to finish reading the second book and then read the third book. Thanks for reading!

Chloe

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

